Firm News

Erin's Picture from Women IN Energy Conference Parr Richey Frandsen Patterson Kruse, LLP is proud to be a platinum sponsor of the 1st annual Women IN Energy Conference. Partner Erin Borissov served on the planning committee and was an MC for the event.

The Utility Law Section of Parr Richey hosted a CLE Seminar on October 20, 2017. Attorneys presented on topics of their choice:

  • James A.L. Buddenbaum, Partner - Contractual Indemnification for Rural Electric Cooperatives
  • Erin C. Borissov, Partner - New State Legislation Affecting Electric Utilities
  • Aleasha J. Boling, Associate - REMC Mergers
  • Jeremy L. Fetty, Partner - Dealing with Bankrupt Members; Railroad Right-Of-Way Update
  • J. Michael Deweese, Associate - Litigation Holds (Ethics Portion of CLE)
  • Kent M. Frandsen, Partner - REMC Director Elections and Campaigning Issues
  • Michael L. Schultz, Partner - Appropriate Insurance Coverage for REMCs and Insurance Requirements for Contractors/Vendors
  • Liane K. Steffes, Associate - Withdrawn Rural Electric Cooperative Access to Member Meetings

Parr Richey Frandsen Patterson Kruse attorneys, Tony Patterson, along with attorneys, Scott Montross and John Muller, obtained a $18,500,000 personal injury jury verdict on behalf of their client this week in Hendricks County (Indiana) Circuit Court against Werner Enterprises and its semi-truck driver. Parr Richey represented a seriously injured driver who was involved in a crash with a semi-truck. Werner, the trucking company, had denied any fault or wrongdoing on behalf of its truck driver. The jury trial lasted seven days.

The firm of Parr Richey wishes to celebrate the life of our partner, David S. Richey, who passed on July 2, 2017 at the age of 85. Dave was our mentor and leader and those who knew him will remember his great love for the law, life and family. Dave thought the firm was part of this family and as with all big families a lot of fun was had by all when Dave was around. Dave was past president of the Indiana State Bar Association (1991-1992) and served the legal needs of nearly every Indiana rural electric cooperative, including being instrumental in regulatory, legislative and litigation efforts. Dave graduated from Lebanon High School in 1950. He then furthered his education at Butler University where he played basketball under Tony Hinkle and was a part of the ROTC, Sigma Nu Fraternity and Butler's Men's Glee Club. Dave graduated in 1954. Upon graduation, he served as an officer in the United States Air Force until 1957. Following his service, Dave attended law school at Indiana University where he received his J.D. In 1960, he started practicing law at Parr & Parr (now Parr Richey Frandsen Patterson Kruse LLP) in Lebanon where he worked for 48 years, retiring in 2008. We wish the best to his wife Patti Haney Richey and his children, Rand Richey and Robin Richey Roberts, and their families.
Click here to read more.

Parr Richey Frandsen Patterson Kruse was honored to be selected as the Boone County Chamber of Commerce featured business for June.

Jeremy Fetty is presenting "Municipal Utilities & Railroads Right-of-Way Issues" at the Indiana Municipal Lawyers Association on June 22, 2017. Mr. Fetty also currently serves as Chair for Indiana State Bar Association's Utility Law Section.

Associate Aleasha Boling made a presentation on Indiana tax abatement policy and procedure to the Indiana Exchange Carrier Association (INECA) at its Leadership Forum on May 24, 2017. INECA is made up of Indiana local exchange companies who provide communications services throughout rural Indiana.

John McLaughlin was recently selected to join The National Trial Lawyers Top 40 Under 40 as a Civil Plaintiff's attorney for the State of Indiana.

Partners Kent Frandsen, Paul Kruse, Jim Buddenbaum, and Tony Patterson have been honored in the 2017 Indianapolis Monthly Magazine's Indiana Super Lawyers Issue. Kent Frandsen was chosen for his work in Civil Litigation, and Jim Buddenbaum was chosen for his work in Business & Corporate Law. Paul Kruse and Tony Patterson were chosen for their work in Personal Injury Litigation. Tony Patterson was named as one of the Top 50 overall attorneys in the State of Indiana and is one of only nineteen Indiana attorneys to earn this distinction for the past six years in a row.